Jackery Explorer 500 v2 — Compact
Jackery Explorer 500 v2

Photo from the manufacturer

Compact F1 · Outlet-sized (up to 1 kWh)

Jackery Jackery Explorer 500 v2

Price
Not available

JouleSpecs does not sell and does not show shop prices: check the price where you buy.

Where to buy

Check the price on Amazon

Paid link: the price for you does not change.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Sheet on the Jackery website →
Add to my system
Data from official source

The Explorer 500 v2 is the roomiest of the three, with two AC outlets instead of one: it can power a small appliance and charge a laptop together without having to choose. The lithium iron phosphate cell holds up to many more charge cycles than earlier versions of the same brand, but those cycles are counted down to a lower remaining capacity than usual: at the end of the count the battery is more worn than is normally meant.

In a power outage it switches to storage so fast that a router or the home lights stay on without a noticeable interruption, and meanwhile it can keep charging from the grid while powering whatever's connected. The solar panel and the car's cigarette lighter socket go through the same DC port and share its maximum limit, so they don't add together.

The fan is quieter while it powers something and a bit louder while it charges from the grid: a difference worth keeping in mind if you leave it charging overnight in a tent or a van. It's built for anyone spending more than a weekend away from home - camper, van, job site - who wants to keep several AC appliances running together, or for a small home backup on a router, lights and a few other loads during a blackout; not for powering a home fridge or heavier job site tools for days on end.

01 · Verified data

Technical specifications

Cell chemistry LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Continuous output 500 W
Cost per kWh 974,61 €/kWh

official manufacturer list price — on nominal capacity

Round-trip efficiency Jackery does not state it.

where we looked

Standby consumption Jackery does not state it.

where we looked

Parameter Value Source
Dimensions 31.1 × 20.5 × 15.7 cm (12.2 × 8.1 × 6.2 in) manufacturer website
Weight 5.7 kg (12.6 lb) manufacturer website
Nominal capacity 0.512 kWh Declared by the brand
Cell chemistry LFP (lithium iron phosphate) Declared by the brand
Expandable No Declared by the brand
Continuous output 500 W Declared by the brand
Peak output 1000 W Declared by the brand
AC outlets 2 Declared by the brand
Fastest USB-C 100 W Declared by the brand
Maximum solar input 200 W Declared by the brand
Backup power UPS Declared by the brand
Switchover time 10 ms Declared by the brand
Rated cycles 6000 cicli Declared by the brand
Capacity at end of cycle life 70 % Declared by the brand
Warranty 3 anni Declared by the brand
Mounting Portable Declared by the brand
Minimum temperature -20 °C Declared by the brand
Maximum temperature 45 °C Declared by the brand
Noise level 36 dB Declared by the brand
Official list price 499 € Declared by the brand
Usable capacity Not declared
Depth of discharge Not declared
Cell supplier Not declared
Maximum expanded capacity Not declared
Peak duration Not declared
Maximum charge power Not declared
0–80% charge time Not declared
Guaranteed throughput Not declared
Guaranteed remaining capacity Not declared
Round-trip efficiency Not declared
Standby consumption Not declared
Ingress protection Not declared
Cell heating Not declared
Wheels and handle Not declared
Works without internet Not declared
Local control Not declared
Open protocols Not declared
Home Assistant integration Not declared
Where the data is hosted Not declared
Remote updates Not declared
App required for setup Not declared
Declared standards Not declared

Which documents this page rests on

The rest of the data comes from one page on the manufacturer's site, cited row by row in the table above.

A manual or a datasheet counts as a source even when the original file is hosted elsewhere: what matters is the document, not the server. Where that happens, it is stated above.

02 · The numbers

What it really costs

Cost per kWh 974.610 €/kWh official manufacturer list price — on nominal capacity
How we worked it out
price
499
nominal capacity
0.512
Battery life cycles 1095 cycles warranty years
  • the manufacturer does not state the guaranteed total energy throughput, which for heavy users is often the limit that runs out first
How we worked it out
stated cycles
6000
warranty years
1095
Cost of stored energy 0.890 €/kWh warranty years
  • the manufacturer does not state the guaranteed total energy throughput, which for heavy users is often the limit that runs out first
  • on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the real cost is higher
  • without conversion losses, which the manufacturer does not state: the real cost is higher
How we worked it out
price
499
nominal capacity
0.512
battery life cycles
1095
round-trip efficiency
100
energy delivered over the whole life
561
Energy density 89.800 Wh/kg
  • on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the true number is lower
How we worked it out
nominal capacity
0.512
weight
5.700
Power-to-capacity ratio 0.980 C
  • on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the true number is lower
How we worked it out
continuous power
500
nominal capacity
0.512

These numbers are calculated, not stated: they have no source to cite, they have a formula you can redo. The price used is the manufacturer's list price, which is stable and the same in every country — not a shop's price on the day.

03 · Summary

Pros and cons

In favour

  • Two AC outlets instead of one: a small appliance and a laptop charge together without needing a power strip.
  • In a power outage it switches to storage so fast that a router or the lights stay on without a noticeable interruption.
  • The startup peak reaches double the continuous rating, so even a motor-driven appliance starts without tripping anything.
  • While it's powering something it stays quiet enough to keep beside you in a tent; it's charging from the grid that makes it noticeable.

Worth knowing

  • The solar panel and the car's cigarette lighter socket go through the same DC port and share its limit: they don't add together.
  • Five hundred watts continuous is enough for a small appliance or a laptop, not for a hair dryer or a hot plate at higher loads.
  • Cycles are counted down to a lower remaining capacity than usual: the number is high, but the battery is already considered end-of-life when it holds less.
If not this one

Alternatives in the catalogue

Chosen by the declared use tier and footprint, not by price: we don't publish prices.