BYD Battery-Box Premium LVS 12.0 — Low voltage
BYD Battery-Box Premium LVS 12.0
Low voltage F4 · House-sized (8–20 kWh)

BYD BYD Battery-Box Premium LVS 12.0

Estimated price range
2200–5000 € ≈ $2,376–$5,400
An editorial estimate, not a selling price

JouleSpecs does not sell and does not show shop prices: check the price where you buy.

Sheet on the BYD website →
Add to my system
Data from official source

The BYD Battery-Box Premium LVS 12.0 is a low-voltage storage unit with lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) cells, made of 3 modules of 4 kWh and offering 12 kWh of usable energy. Compatible inverters include SMA, Victron Energy, GoodWe, Sungrow, SolarEdge, Solis, Schneider Electric, Deye, Hoymiles and Sosen.

It is floor-mounted, with an IP55 protection rating, and expands up to 64 modules in parallel, equal to 256 kWh. The warranty lasts ten years or until a minimum throughput energy of 35.64 MWh is reached, whichever of the two comes first.

01 · Verified data

Technical specifications

Usable capacity 12 kWh
Cell chemistry LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Round-trip efficiency 95 %
Standby consumption BYD does not state it.

where we looked

Parameter Value Source
Dimensions 65 × 29.8 × 99.4 cm (25.6 × 11.7 × 39.1 in) manufacturer website
Weight 154.0 kg (339.5 lb) manufacturer website
Usable capacity 12 kWh Declared by the brand
Depth of discharge 100 % Declared by the brand
Cell chemistry LFP (lithium iron phosphate) Declared by the brand
Expandable Yes Declared by the brand
Maximum expanded capacity 256 kWh Declared by the brand
Battery voltage 51.2 V Declared by the brand
Declared compatible inverters SMA, Victron Energy, GoodWe, Sungrow, SolarEdge, Solis, Schneider Electric, Deye, Hoymiles, Sosen Declared by the brand
Warranty 10 anni Declared by the brand
Guaranteed throughput 35.64 MWh Declared by the brand
Guaranteed remaining capacity 60 % Declared by the brand
Round-trip efficiency 95 % Declared by the brand
Ingress protection IP55 Declared by the brand
Mounting Floor standing Declared by the brand
Minimum temperature -10 °C Declared by the brand
Maximum temperature 50 °C Declared by the brand
Open protocols CAN bus Declared by the brand
Declared standards CE, UN 38.3, IEC 62619, VDE 2510-50 Declared by the brand
Nominal capacity — Not declared
Cell supplier — Not declared
Continuous output — Not applicable
Phases — Not applicable
Backup power — Not applicable
Backup phases — Not applicable
Switchover time — Not applicable
Black start — Not applicable
Grid charging — Not applicable
Dynamic tariffs — Not applicable
EV charger integration — Not applicable
Heat pump integration — Not applicable
Virtual power plant — Not applicable
Rated cycles — Not declared
Capacity at end of cycle life — Not declared
Standby consumption — Not declared
Cell heating — Not declared
Noise level — Not declared
Battery passport — Not declared
Carbon footprint — Not declared
Recycled content — Not declared
Grid connection power — Not applicable
Official list price — Not declared

Which documents this page rests on

The rest of the data comes from one page on the manufacturer's site, cited row by row in the table above.

A manual or a datasheet counts as a source even when the original file is hosted elsewhere: what matters is the document, not the server. Where that happens, it is stated above.

02 · The numbers

What it really costs

Battery life cycles 2970 cycles guaranteed energy throughput
How we worked it out
warranty years
3650
guaranteed energy throughput
2970
Cost of stored energy 0.106 €/kWh guaranteed energy throughput
How we worked it out
price
3600
usable capacity
12
battery life cycles
2970
round-trip efficiency
95
energy delivered over the whole life
33858
Energy density 77.900 Wh/kg
How we worked it out
usable capacity
12
weight
154

These numbers are calculated, not stated: they have no source to cite, they have a formula you can redo. The price used is the manufacturer's list price, which is stable and the same in every country — not a shop's price on the day.

03 · Summary

Pros and cons

In favour

  • It expands up to 64 modules in parallel, equal to 256 kWh.
  • It has an IP55 protection rating.
  • Compatible with inverters from several brands, including GoodWe, Sungrow and Victron Energy.

Worth knowing

  • Anyone who cycles it often can reach the warranty's throughput cap of 35.64 MWh before the ten years are up.
  • After ten years the warranty ensures 60% of the usable energy.
  • The minimum operating temperature is -10 °C, and between -10 and +5 °C the charge current is reduced.
Updates to this sheet and Manufacturer Notes
  1. Price updated
  2. Sheet published