Photo from the manufacturer
MARSTEK Saturn B2500-D is a battery that sits between the panels and the microinverter: the panels connect to two inputs on its body, and a separate output carries DC current to the microinverter, which converts it for the home grid. It has no inverter of its own, so it always needs to be paired with a microinverter, bought separately or in the same bundle.
More units can be chained: with a single-PV-input microinverter up to 2 units, while 3 or 4 units need microinverters with two or four PV inputs. The case has an IP65 protection rating and sits on the ground on the balcony, to be raised if the floor floods often. First setup goes through the app, over Bluetooth, to connect it to the home Wi-Fi.
Technical specifications
official manufacturer list price — on nominal capacity
| Parameter | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 20.0 kg (44.1 lb) | manufacturer website |
| Nominal capacity | 2.24 kWh | Declared by the brand |
| Cell chemistry | LFP (lithium iron phosphate) | Declared by the brand |
| Expandable | Yes | Declared by the brand |
| Maximum expanded capacity | 8.96 kWh | Declared by the brand |
| Battery voltage | 44.8 V | Declared by the brand |
| Feed-in limit | 800 VA | Declared by the brand |
| Inverter included | No | Declared by the brand |
| Maximum solar input | 1600 W | Declared by the brand |
| MPPT trackers | 2 | Declared by the brand |
| Rated cycles | 6000 cicli | Declared by the brand |
| Warranty | 10 anni | Declared by the brand |
| Ingress protection | IP65 | Declared by the brand |
| Mounting | Floor standing | Declared by the brand |
| Minimum temperature | -10 °C | Declared by the brand |
| Maximum temperature | 50 °C | Declared by the brand |
| App required for setup | Yes | Declared by the brand |
| Official list price | 599 € | Declared by the brand |
| Depth of discharge | — | Not declared |
| Cell supplier | — | Not declared |
| Grid charging | — | Not declared |
| Maximum charge power | — | Not declared |
| Dynamic tariffs | — | Not declared |
| Backup power | — | Not declared |
| Backup output | — | Not declared |
| Switchover time | — | Not declared |
| Capacity at end of cycle life | — | Not declared |
| Guaranteed throughput | — | Not declared |
| Guaranteed remaining capacity | — | Not declared |
| Round-trip efficiency | — | Not declared |
| Standby consumption | — | Not declared |
| Cell heating | — | Not declared |
| Noise level | — | Not declared |
| Works without internet | — | Not declared |
| Local control | — | Not declared |
| Open protocols | — | Not declared |
| Home Assistant integration | — | Not declared |
| Where the data is hosted | — | Not declared |
| Remote updates | — | Not declared |
| Declared standards | — | Not declared |
| Battery passport | — | Not declared |
| Carbon footprint | — | Not declared |
| Recycled content | — | Not declared |
Which documents this page rests on
The rest of the data comes from 2 pages on the manufacturer's site, cited row by row in the table above.
A manual or a datasheet counts as a source even when the original file is hosted elsewhere: what matters is the document, not the server. Where that happens, it is stated above.
What it really costs
How we worked it out
- price
- 599
- nominal capacity
- 2.240
- the manufacturer does not state the guaranteed total energy throughput, which for heavy users is often the limit that runs out first
How we worked it out
- stated cycles
- 6000
- warranty years
- 3650
- the manufacturer does not state the guaranteed total energy throughput, which for heavy users is often the limit that runs out first
- on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the real cost is higher
- without conversion losses, which the manufacturer does not state: the real cost is higher
How we worked it out
- price
- 599
- nominal capacity
- 2.240
- battery life cycles
- 3650
- round-trip efficiency
- 100
- energy delivered over the whole life
- 8176
- on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the true number is lower
How we worked it out
- nominal capacity
- 2.240
- weight
- 20
These numbers are calculated, not stated: they have no source to cite, they have a formula you can redo. The price used is the manufacturer's list price, which is stable and the same in every country — not a shop's price on the day.
Pros and cons
In favour
- Several units can be chained: up to 2 with a single-PV-input microinverter, 3 or 4 with microinverters with two or four PV inputs.
- The IP65 protection rating allows keeping it on the balcony, outdoors.
- Two independent solar inputs: two panels with different orientations don't hold each other back.
- It slots in between the panels and the microinverter of a balcony system.
Worth knowing
- It has no inverter of its own: a paired microinverter is needed, bought separately or in a bundle.
- First setup has to go through the app, over Bluetooth and Wi-Fi.
- If the balcony floods often, it has to be raised off the floor.
Similar products worth weighing up
Other products Marstek
Updates to this sheet and Manufacturer Notes
-
Sheet published Specifications updated: nome
-
Price updated