Photo from the manufacturer
EcoFlow EcoFlow STREAM Expansion Battery 5000
JouleSpecs does not sell and does not show shop prices: check the price where you buy.
The EcoFlow STREAM Expansion Battery 5000 is just a battery: it has no inverter, no inputs for panels, no connection to the grid. It stacks beneath an already-installed STREAM 5000 or STREAM AC 5000 and doubles its capacity; energy management stays entirely with the unit it's attached to.
Each main unit accepts up to two, for a three-body system on the same balcony. Each module, though, charges and discharges with its own ceiling: anyone stacking two batteries to empty them faster finds that the speed per module doesn't change, only the reserve does.
It's for anyone who already has a STREAM 5000 or AC 5000 and wants more autonomy without touching the main unit. It's not for anyone starting from zero: on its own it produces and distributes nothing.
Technical specifications
official manufacturer list price — on nominal capacity
| Parameter | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 40.0 kg (88.2 lb) | manufacturer website |
| Compatible models | STREAM 5000, STREAM AC 5000 (fino a due batterie per unita) | Declared by the brand |
| Nominal capacity | 5.024 kWh | Declared by the brand |
| Cell chemistry | LFP (lithium iron phosphate) | Declared by the brand |
| Battery voltage | 50 V | Declared by the brand |
| Maximum charge power | 1.8 kW | Declared by the brand |
| Rated cycles | 10000 cicli | Declared by the brand |
| Warranty | 10 anni | Declared by the brand |
| Ingress protection | IP65 | Declared by the brand |
| Minimum temperature | -20 °C | Declared by the brand |
| Maximum temperature | 55 °C | Declared by the brand |
| Official list price | 1599 € | Declared by the brand |
| Usable capacity | — | Not declared |
| Depth of discharge | — | Not declared |
| Cell supplier | — | Not declared |
| Expandable | — | Not declared |
| Maximum expanded capacity | — | Not declared |
| Feed-in limit | — | Not declared |
| Inverter included | — | Not declared |
| Maximum solar input | — | Not declared |
| MPPT trackers | — | Not declared |
| Grid charging | — | Not declared |
| Dynamic tariffs | — | Not declared |
| Backup power | — | Not declared |
| Backup output | — | Not declared |
| Switchover time | — | Not declared |
| Capacity at end of cycle life | — | Not declared |
| Guaranteed throughput | — | Not declared |
| Guaranteed remaining capacity | — | Not declared |
| Round-trip efficiency | — | Not declared |
| Standby consumption | — | Not declared |
| Mounting | — | Not declared |
| Cell heating | — | Not declared |
| Noise level | — | Not declared |
| Works without internet | — | Not declared |
| Local control | — | Not declared |
| Open protocols | — | Not declared |
| Home Assistant integration | — | Not declared |
| Where the data is hosted | — | Not declared |
| Remote updates | — | Not declared |
| App required for setup | — | Not declared |
| Declared standards | — | Not declared |
| Battery passport | — | Not declared |
| Carbon footprint | — | Not declared |
| Recycled content | — | Not declared |
Which documents this page rests on
The rest of the data comes from 2 pages on the manufacturer's site, cited row by row in the table above.
A manual or a datasheet counts as a source even when the original file is hosted elsewhere: what matters is the document, not the server. Where that happens, it is stated above.
What it really costs
How we worked it out
- price
- 1599
- nominal capacity
- 5.024
- the manufacturer does not state the guaranteed total energy throughput, which for heavy users is often the limit that runs out first
How we worked it out
- stated cycles
- 10000
- warranty years
- 3650
- the manufacturer does not state the guaranteed total energy throughput, which for heavy users is often the limit that runs out first
- on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the real cost is higher
- without conversion losses, which the manufacturer does not state: the real cost is higher
How we worked it out
- price
- 1599
- nominal capacity
- 5.024
- battery life cycles
- 3650
- round-trip efficiency
- 100
- energy delivered over the whole life
- 18338
- on nominal capacity: the manufacturer does not state the usable figure, so the true number is lower
How we worked it out
- nominal capacity
- 5.024
- weight
- 40
These numbers are calculated, not stated: they have no source to cite, they have a formula you can redo. The price used is the manufacturer's list price, which is stable and the same in every country — not a shop's price on the day.
Pros and cons
In favour
- It doubles the reserve of an already-installed STREAM without changing the main unit.
- Up to two per unit: a three-body system without a second inverter to install.
- It stacks beneath the main unit: no second installation spot is needed.
Worth knowing
- On its own it does nothing: an already-installed STREAM 5000 or AC 5000 is needed, and it doesn't attach to other models.
- Each module charges and discharges with its own ceiling: two stacked batteries don't empty faster than one.
- Each main unit accepts at most two: the reserve doesn't grow beyond three bodies.
Similar products worth weighing up
Other products EcoFlow
Updates to this sheet and Manufacturer Notes
-
Sheet published
-
Price updated