Huawei LUNA2000-21-S1 — High voltage
Huawei LUNA2000-21-S1

Photo from the manufacturer

High voltage F5 · Large-house-sized (over 20 kWh)

Huawei Huawei LUNA2000-21-S1

Estimated price range
5000–11000 € ≈ $5,400–$11,880
An editorial estimate, not a selling price

JouleSpecs does not sell and does not show shop prices: check the price where you buy.

Data from official source

Huawei LUNA2000-21-S1 is a high-voltage residential battery with no inverter of its own: it works together with a Huawei SUN2000 or SUN5000 inverter and doesn't generate AC current on its own.

With three battery modules stacked one above the other, each individual module works with its own energy optimizer: that's what lets the system stay close to its rated capacity instead of losing margin to the imbalance between a more charged module and a less charged one. It withstands -20 to +55°C and works outdoors too, and when the sun isn't enough it charges from the grid.

The basic warranty lasts five years; the extra ten years provided for Europe stay active only if the system remains connected to its own online service: disconnecting it for more than six months voids that part.

01 · Verified data

Technical specifications

Usable capacity 20.7 kWh
Cell chemistry LFP (lithium iron phosphate)
Cost per kWh 386,47 €/kWh

midpoint of the estimated range — on nominal capacity; on usable capacity it is 386,47 €/kWh

Round-trip efficiency Huawei does not state it.

where we looked

Standby consumption Huawei does not state it.

where we looked

Parameter Value Source
Dimensions 59 × 25.5 × 123 cm (23.2 × 10.0 × 48.4 in) manufacturer website
Weight 216.0 kg (476.2 lb) manufacturer website
Usable capacity 20.7 kWh Declared by the brand
Nominal capacity 20.7 kWh Declared by the brand
Depth of discharge 100 % Declared by the brand
Cell chemistry LFP (lithium iron phosphate) Declared by the brand
Expandable Yes Declared by the brand
Declared compatible inverters Solo inverter Huawei — SUN2000-2/3/3.68/4/4.6/5/6KTL-L1, SUN2000-3/3.68/4/4.6/5/6K-LB0, SUN2000-8/10K-LC0, SUN2000-3/4/5/6/8/10KTL-M1, SUN2000-5/6/8/10/12K-MAP0, SUN2000-12/15/17/20/25K-MB0, SUN5000-3/6K-LB0, SUN5000-8/12K-MAP0, SUN5000-17/25K-MB0 Declared by the brand
Maximum charge power 10.5 kW Declared by the brand
Grid charging Yes Declared by the brand
Rated cycles 5000 cicli Declared by the brand
Capacity at end of cycle life 80 % Declared by the brand
Warranty 5 anni Declared by the brand
Guaranteed throughput 28.84 MWh Declared by the brand
Guaranteed remaining capacity 60 % Declared by the brand
Ingress protection IP66 Declared by the brand
Mounting Floor standing Declared by the brand
Minimum temperature -20 °C Declared by the brand
Maximum temperature 55 °C Declared by the brand
Noise level 29 dB Declared by the brand
Works without internet With limitations Declared by the brand
App required for setup Yes Declared by the brand
Declared standards CE, UN 38.3, IEC 62619 Declared by the brand
Cell supplier — Not declared
Maximum expanded capacity — Not declared
Battery voltage — Not declared
Continuous output — Not applicable
Phases — Not applicable
Backup power — Not applicable
Backup phases — Not applicable
Switchover time — Not applicable
Black start — Not applicable
Dynamic tariffs — Not declared
EV charger integration — Not declared
Heat pump integration — Not declared
Virtual power plant — Not declared
Round-trip efficiency — Not declared
Standby consumption — Not declared
Cell heating — Not declared
Local control — Not applicable
Open protocols — Not applicable
Home Assistant integration — Not applicable
Where the data is hosted — Not declared
Remote updates — Not declared
Battery passport — Not declared
Carbon footprint — Not declared
Recycled content — Not declared
Grid connection power — Not applicable
Official list price — Not declared

Which documents this page rests on

A manual or a datasheet counts as a source even when the original file is hosted elsewhere: what matters is the document, not the server. Where that happens, it is stated above.

02 · The numbers

What it really costs

Cost per kWh 386.470 €/kWh midpoint of the estimated range — on nominal capacity; on usable capacity it is 386,47 €/kWh
How we worked it out
price
8000
nominal capacity
20.700
Battery life cycles 1393 cycles guaranteed energy throughput
How we worked it out
stated cycles
5000
warranty years
1825
guaranteed energy throughput
1393
Cost of stored energy 0.277 €/kWh guaranteed energy throughput
  • without conversion losses, which the manufacturer does not state: the real cost is higher
How we worked it out
price
8000
usable capacity
20.700
battery life cycles
1393
round-trip efficiency
100
energy delivered over the whole life
28835
Energy density 95.800 Wh/kg
How we worked it out
usable capacity
20.700
weight
216

These numbers are calculated, not stated: they have no source to cite, they have a formula you can redo. The price used is the manufacturer's list price, which is stable and the same in every country — not a shop's price on the day.

03 · Summary

Pros and cons

In favour

  • Up to 4 systems can run in parallel, but only with the SUN2000-12/15/17/20/25K-MB0 inverters.
  • It's rated IP66: it withstands dust and water jets, so it can sit outside the home too.
  • It also charges from the grid, not only from solar.

Worth knowing

  • Charging from the grid has to be enabled in line with the grid-charging requirements set by local regulations.
  • It only works paired with a Huawei SUN2000 or SUN5000 inverter: it doesn't install on a system from another brand.
  • Half the warranty provided for Europe, ten of the fifteen years, is tied to staying connected: it isn't automatic like the first five.
Updates to this sheet and Manufacturer Notes
  1. Price updated
  2. Sheet published